Do you have job search paralysis?

I read a thought-provoking post by Gretchen Rubin at The Happiness Project, titled Are You Ever Paralyzed Because Two of Your Values Are in Conflict? This conflict “arises from a feeling of ambivalence – I want to do something, but I don’t want to do it; or I want one thing, but I also want something else that conflicts with it.” This can result in a kind of paralysis, where we do nothing because we can’t reconcile our conflicting values.

I believe this happens a lot in the job search. Do any of these examples ring true?

I want to find a job. I’m enjoying having more time to spend with my family.
I should get a job in my previous career field. I want to try a new career.
I should take great satisfaction from my job. I want a job I don’t have to think much about.
I don’t know what I want to do. I don’t want to admit what I really want to do.
I want to follow my passion. I want someone to tell me what I should be doing.
Satisfaction is more important than money or a job title. I want to make a lot of money and have an impressive title.
I wish I had more support in this job search. I don’t want anyone to know I’m struggling in my job search.
I’ll take any job that comes my way. I only want the job I used to have.
I’m excited about finding a new opportunity. I’m terrified at the idea of a new/different job.
I want to take a break from the job search. I can’t take a break until I’ve found a job.

Rubin says she breaks through the lack of clarity – and the resulting paralysis – by making sure that she is very clear on what she expects from herself, and why she’s taking this particular course of action.

How do you break through job search paralysis?

Leave a Reply

