Local Lessons on Community Support

banners-soulful_living_799479992
“There are many definitions of community. The one I like best is simple: People with common interests in a particular area.”

Written by guest author, Teri Williams

When I was a young girl my dad used to wake me up early most Saturday mornings to head downtown to Eastern Market in Detroit where we would shop for the weeks fresh fruits and vegetables.  The vendors would greet us with bright smiles and warm welcomes. Some who knew us would even have a few items already packed.  Every few minutes one of my dad’s coworkers would stop us to say hello and chat.

On the way home we would have breakfast at one of the local restaurants.  At one particular diner the chef would start cooking our breakfast when he saw us walk in the door.  The server (called a waitress back then) would have coffee, juice and chocolate milk in her hand before we even sat down.  Most times friends, family, or local officials would sit with us for a few minutes, catching up on the events of the week.  It was a weekend ritual that I loved not just because I hung out with my dad, more because we shared community spirit and the love of humanity with so many others.  Sounds like a scene from Cheers – without the beers!

There are many definitions of community.  The one I like best is simple:  People with common interests in a particular area.

GirlavantingGirls night out Elegance By Design Ferndale
“…the foundation of my success starts within my own home town by showing my support to fellow local business owners.”

the foundation of my success starts within my own home town by showing my support to fellow local business owners. 

Much has changed since I was a young girl; however the fundamentals of community living have not.  Whether you reside in a city or have a business in a city means you have a common interest with all who are part of that city; you have stake in the community.  The ultimate goal is for the community to thrive, to grow, to shine. For those of us who both reside in and do business within our community, our stake becomes even higher.  We want both our business and our home to reflect success.

As someone whose business is both local and global, I realize that the foundation of my success starts within my own home town by showing my support to fellow local business owners.  Every time I need something I look around my hometown first.

Why support local?

Local business owners recycle many of their dollars back into the community through taxes, hiring local residents, and spending their own dollars on the home front. 

Local business support means you reduce ecological waste with less gas, as well as less air and water pollution.

Local business shopping strengthens the foundation of social relationships by linking neighbors and supporting local causes. 

difference between soulcial and socialNext time you are looking for something, whether it’s a gift for a friend, a plumber, or something just for you, take a minute to look at one of the businesses within your city.  It’s better for you, it’s better for them, it’s better for the community and it’s better for the environment.

Teri Griffin Williams has spent most of her life supporting the Ferndale community in some capacity. With over 20 years’ experience in both the corporate world and mindful, heart centered energy work, Teri Williams shares her personal knowledge gained as a successful entrepreneur.  She is a multimedia and business consultant, as well as a Shamanic Practitioner, Reiki Master and Certified Intuitive Practitioner who relates the ins and outs of what works for her in the hopes that you, too, will live a more Soul-cially Conscious life.  She is the host of Soulful Living at Empoweradio.com and a regular contributing author for SimpleStepsRealChangeMag.com. For more about her, including free resources and how to work with her, visit TeriGriffinWilliams.com

One thought on “Local Lessons on Community Support

Leave a comment